Our governance

Willen Hospice is governed by a Board of Trustees who form the Council of Management

Their role is to ensure that the Charity functions within the law in accordance with the Charity Commission rules and also that the resources are managed efficiently. They meet quarterly and hold an AGM in August of each year. The Council determines the strategic direction and ensures policies and procedures are in place to manage risk. Various sub-committees, each with a Trustee representation, work to monitor the different aspects of the Hospice.

All directors are required to retire at the annual general meeting immediately following the tenth anniversary of their appointment as a director of the Association. Any directors retiring are eligible for re-election as a director for one or more further periods but are required to retire at the third annual general meeting following each annual general meeting at which they were re-elected.

Meet our Trustees
Mr Paul Davis (Chairman)
Mr Graham Ball (Treasurer)
Ms Marihelen Esam
Mr Ivan Philpott
Mr Mike Stevenson
Ms Sue Carbert
Mr Rob Gilbert
Miss Charlotte Dunn
Mrs Jan Wood
Mr Alex Coombes
Dr Madeline Rogers
Mrs Caroline White-Robinson

Opportunities may exist for individuals whose skills will enhance those of the existing Council and Senior Management Team. We are always happy to talk informally to those interested. We are committed to an equal opportunities approach in everything we do and welcome applications from all sectors of our local community, to join our Council of Management. If you would like further information on this rewarding and interesting role, please contact our Chief Executive Officer, Peta Wilkinson.

Meet our Executive Team
Julie Cooper
Director of Finance and Resources

Julie Cooper

Penny McNamara
Director of Clinical Services

Penny McNamara

Clare Reeve
Director of People Services
Peta Wilkinson
Chief Executive

Peta Wilkinson

Meet our Senior Team
The team is responsible for the operational management and quality of all services within the organisation. They are responsible for the implementation of the Strategic Plan, also ensuring that agreed policies and procedures are adhered to and that the quality of services fully meets and where possible, exceeds the requirements of statutory bodies.
Sarah Shankar
Associate Director Therapeutic & Wellbeing Lead

Contact Sarah at sarah.shankar@willen-hospice.org.uk

Jackie Meissner
Associate Director In-Patient & Community Care

Jackie Meissner

Lynn O'Gorman
Head of Development

Lynn O’Gorman

Mark Rawlins
Associate Director Commercial

Mark Rawlins

Associate Director Community Development


Marilyn David
Associate Director of Quality, Compliance & Governance

Marilyn David

In a typical year...
our cost, per minute
phone calls to patients at home
fabulous volunteers
patients cared for at home
home visits
patients at the hospice
of cups of tea
counselling sessions
We can only provide the care we do thanks to the incredible generosity of our community, through their continued volunteering, fundraising and donations throughout the year. Your donation will enable us to continue providing care and support to those facing a life-limiting diagnosis, and to support their loved ones.

Willen Hospice is a Registered Charity No. 270194 and is a Company Registered in England and Wales with Company No. 1231909

Willen Hospice, Milton Road, Willen Village, Milton Keynes, MK15 9AB